What is the statute of limitations for a personal injury claim?

Most people who don't work in the legal system are familiar with the "statute of limitations". But, are there other time limits that apply?

Maryland law provides special time limits and notification requirements.

An experienced Baltimore personal injury attorney can provide you with guidance on these specific procedures. The general time frame for filing an action for personal injury is three years. That means you must have papers filed with the court before the third anniversary of the loss.

Claims against certain governmental entities have more stringent requirements.  

If your claim is a tort [e.g. negligence] claim against the State of Maryland, you must notify the state treasurer of the claim with 1 year of the occurrence or the suit will be disallowed, even though statute of What is the statute of limitations for a personal injury claim? - Attorney Blog Baltimore MD - Criminal Defense, Personal Injury Lawyer - Eric T. Kirk - maryland_attorneylimitations may not run for 2 more years. If your claim is a tort claim against a local government entity, your personal injury lawyer must notify the designated representative within 6 months of the occurrence or the claim will be disallowed, even though statute of limitations may not run for 2 and one half more years.

In this clip, I discuss the role of limitations, and other notice and time requirements that affect your personal injury claim. 

Call me today to discuss the timing, time limits and time frames that govern your claim. 410 591 2835. I offer a complimentary legal analysis to all potential clients. 

Slip and Fall Accidents: Proving Fault

Slip and fall injury is where an individual slips, falls, and is injured in another person's compound or property. The case is covered under another broad category known as premises liability. When this happens, the owner of the building might...

What is an Alford Plea under Maryland Law?

Almost 50 years ago the US Supreme Court recognized that if certain criteria were met, a sentencing judge could accept a plea – in effect a de facto plea of guilty- from an individual who maintained they were, in fact, innocent. Alford plead...

WHAT IS CONSIDERED PERJURY UNDER MARYLAND LAW?

Maryland criminal law makes it a crime to knowingly and falsely make an affirmation of material fact under oath, or in affidavit authorized by law. The falsity must be given knowingly, and not be the product of surprise or confusion. Moreover, the...

IS IT A CRIME TO MAKE A BOMB THREAT IN MARYLAND?

Most of us are familiar with a prankster who pulls a file alarm. In post-911 Maryland, this conduct is not viewed as harmless fun. Section 9-504 of the Criminal Law Article makes it a crime to circulate or transmit to...

IS IT ILLEGAL TO HACK INTO A COMPUTER IN MARYLAND

Maryland law punishes the conduct that is informally known as “hacking”. Current law makes it a crime, standing alone, to gain access to someone else’s computer data, whether or not information is stolen. The law was...

TOP 10 REASONS FOR CONSULTING WITH A PERSONAL INJURY ATTORNEY.

I’ve always maintained that you should consult with an experienced personal injury attorney immediately after a car accident involving injury. My feelings are that it just makes sense to get a handle on what legal rights and options you have....

IF I HIRE A PERSONAL INJURY LAWYER DO I PAY ANYTHING UP FRONT?

Most personal injury lawyers, and this one is no exception, handle cases on what is called a contingency fee contract. Distilled to its most basic, this is often called a NO COSTS UNLESS WE WIN arrangement. It is probably fair to refer to it...

HOW MUCH ARE CAR ACCIDENT LAWYER’S FEES?

Attorney’s fees come in three variations. You may agree to hire a lawyer for a fixed or ‘flat’ fee. Under this arrangement, the lawyer agrees to accept a specific amount to handle a case for you. Criminal defense cases are...