Is it too late to sue? What is the status of limitations for a medical malpractice claim?

In Maryland, a negligence action generally must be filed by a personal injury attorney within 3 years from the date of injury.

However, an action for damages relating to providing, or failing to provide, professional health care services must be brought within the earlier of 5 years from the date of the act leading to injury, or three years after the injury was discovered.

The injured person must always act with appropriate diligence in pursuing the claim. The time periods may be extended if a minor is the injured person. An experienced Baltimore personal injury attorney can provide you with the time-frames that apply to your case. 

If you've been injured, I'd be honored to personally meet with you to go through the specifics of your claim. This initial legal analysis and case opinion is a complimentary service I offer to my prospective clients. 

IF I DON'T GO TO THE DOCTOR DO I HAVE A CASE?

“I was in a car accident. Do I have a case if I did not go to a doctor” ? As a personal injury and accident attorney, this is a question that I see with surprising frequency. I’ve represented the victims of negligence and injured...

HOW MUCH WILL I GET FOR MY PERSONAL INJURY OR AUTO ACCIDENT CASE?

In other chapters in these guides, I've explored in a lot of detail the various factors that go into determining a fair range of value for the typical personal injury or motor vehicle accident case in Maryland. One of the most difficult, yet one...

HOW IS FAULT DETERMINED IN A MARYLAND CAR ACCIDENT CASE?

Police officers, claims adjuster, attorneys, judges and jurors all give their conclusions on who caused an accident. Obviously, the conclusions offered by judge or a jury are going to be conclusive, absent an appeal. But what set of rules guides...

The Top Five Things To Expect In A Personal Injury Case.

Whether you are dealing with a motor vehicle accident, a slip or trip and fall claim, or some other negligence based case, in any personal injury claim, obviously, there's going to be an accident, or an injury, or both. The injured person will...

What is an Alford Plea under Maryland Law?

Almost 50 years ago the US Supreme Court recognized that if certain criteria were met, a sentencing judge could accept a plea – in effect a de facto plea of guilty- from an individual who maintained they were, in fact, innocent. Alford plead...

WHAT IS CONSIDERED PERJURY UNDER MARYLAND LAW?

Maryland criminal law makes it a crime to knowingly and falsely make an affirmation of material fact under oath, or in affidavit authorized by law. The falsity must be given knowingly, and not be the product of surprise or confusion. Moreover, the...