Can I Carry A Stun Gun Or Taser In Maryland?
The short answer is that it depends. Maryland law allows you to possess a stun gun or taser under certain circumstances. Under the law, stun guns and tasers are called Electronic Control Devices. This is defined as a portable device designed as a weapon capable of injuring, immobilizing, or inflicting pain on an individual by the discharge of electrical current. You are not allowed to carry a concealed stun gun unless permitted by the state.
The following qualifications must be met in order to carry stun guns and tasers in the state of Maryland:
- Must be over the age of 18
- Must have a clean record free of crimes of violence and drug-related activity
- must be otherwise permitted by applicable local regulations
Maryland law specifically recognizes that local jurisdictions are free to enact their own, greater restrictions, and many have. For example in Baltimore City, one cannot possess a stun gun or taser in a school or in a state or public building.
What are the Penalties for Illegal Taser or Stun Gun Possession?
A violation of use can result in 60 days of jail time and a $5oo fine. Significantly, if the electronic device is used in the commission of a separate crime of violence, the offense becomes a felony, carrying 3 years in jail.
As noted, this law also provides that municipalities and local governments can enact more stringent rules should they chose to do so. There are restrictions at the time of sale of these devices. The purchaser must be given specific instructions, and the seller must obtain a background check of purchaser and keep detailed records.
-This Article was updated by Eric Kirk on 12/10/19.