Articles, Analysis,
and Commentary

Do I Have To Give A Recorded Statement To The Insurance Company In A Maryland Auto Accident Case?

You must give a statement to your insurance company, but not the other side's.

 

Transcript

No, you don't have to give a recorded statement to the insurance company. We need to make a couple of distinctions here between a recorded statement and a deposition. A recorded statement is an informal event. A deposition is a formal event where you would be asked questions under oath. That occurs later in the case after litigation is started.
As to answer the question, specifically, do you have to give a recorded statement to your own insurance company? The answer is, yes, you generally have to cooperate with your own insurance company. You never under any circumstances have to give a voluntary recorded statement to the insurance company for the other party involved in an automobile accident.

 

I hope this addressed your question. Over the course of 25 years, I've found that fully addressing a legal question is best handled in a one-on-one, in person strategy and case analysis conference. I offer these to potential clients on a complimentary basis. Please use any of the methods under the contact tab at the top of the page to arrange yours.

Eric T Kirk
Attorney

After graduating with honors from Albany Law School in New York, Eric Kirk has spent most of his 25 year legal career battling insurance companies to secure fair and just compensation for his clients in Maryland, New York, and Florida.

410-657-5962