Is Malicious Burning Different from Arson In Maryland?
The crime of arson encompasses the burning of dwelling and structures. Criminal defense lawyers in Baltimore have successfully argued that a different crime is involved when the burned item is personalty.
Maryland law prohibits the willful burning of the personal property of another.
If the property is valued at more than 1,000 the crime is in the first degree, and in the second degree if the value of the property is less. In the context of this statute “Maliciously means acting with intent to harm a person or property." First degree malicious burning is punishable by up to 5 years, whereas second degree is punishable by 18 months or less.
-This Article was updated by Eric Kirk on 3/6/20.
I offer a free planning and strategy session to anyone accused of a crime. At this meeting, we will evaluate the evidence, examine the strength of the State’s case, and analyze the most effective defense. If the State has chosen to prosecute you, contact me today. 410 591 2935.
FN 1 MD Code, Criminal Law, § 6-101