Articles, Analysis,
and Commentary

What Happens If I Refuse A Breath Test In Maryland?

You lose the right to drive for 270 days.

 

Transcript

The answer is you lose your license. Maryland, like all states, is an implied consent jurisdiction, meaning that if you drive on the roadways in Maryland, you agree to give a breath sample to officers on demand. If you refuse that request, you lose your license, for an initial refusal, for 270 days. Now, it is possible to apply to the MVA for what is sometimes called a hardship license or restricted license, under which you can drive to work or potentially to school or medical appointments. In order to do that, you have to also place an ignition interlock device on your car.

I hope this addressed your question. Over the course of 25 years, I've found that fully addressing a legal question is best handled in a one-on-one, in person strategy and case analysis conference. I offer these to potential clients on a complimentary basis. Please use any of the methods under the contact tab at the top of the page to arrange yours.

Eric T Kirk
Attorney

After graduating with honors from Albany Law School in New York, Eric Kirk has spent most of his 25 year legal career battling insurance companies to secure fair and just compensation for his clients in Maryland, New York, and Florida.

410-657-5962