Articles, Analysis,
and Commentary

What Is The Statute Of Limitations To Bring A Maryland Auto Accident Case?

Its three years.



The general statute of limitations in Maryland, and the one applicable to car accidents, is three years. You have to file a lawsuit in a court of law within three years from the date the accident happened. Just because you have three years to file a lawsuit doesn't mean that you don't have to act before that in certain circumstances. If a defendant in the case is the State of Maryland or a local government entity in Maryland, they are entitled to receive written notice within one year from the date of accident, even though you don't ultimately file suit until three years from the date of accident.

I hope this addressed your question. Over the course of 25 years, I've found that fully addressing a legal question is best handled in a one-on-one, in person strategy and case analysis conference. I offer these to potential clients on a complimentary basis. Please use any of the methods under the contact tab at the top of the page to arrange yours.


Eric T Kirk

After graduating with honors from Albany Law School in New York, Eric Kirk has spent most of his 25 year legal career battling insurance companies to secure fair and just compensation for his clients in Maryland, New York, and Florida.