Articles, Analysis,
and Commentary

What are the Penalties for a Child Abuse Conviction?

There is no question this is an ugly subject. Many good criminal defense lawyers in Baltimore will shy away from representing those accused of these crimes. The social stigma associated with a child abuse accusation, let alone a conviction, is toxic and can present lifelong implications. 

There is no room for argument that if the accusation becomes a conviction, the perpetrator deserves whatever he or she gets. 

The penalties here are substantial. 25 years for a conviction for first-degree child abuse, 15 years for second degree. 

Although the provision clearly makes sense, some are surprised to learn that stopping another from reporting abuse can also be a crime. 

" An individual may not intentionally prevent or interfere with the making of a report of suspected abuse or neglect required" by law.  1

     -This Article was updated by Eric Kirk on 3/3/20. 

I extend a no-cost, no-obligation case analysis and in-person, confidential conference and strategy session to all prospective clients. If you have been accused of a crime, it is vital that you act quickly to safeguard your freedom. Contact me today. 410 591 2835, or simply complete the online form at the bottom of the page. 

____________________________/

FN 1 Section 5-705.2 of the Famliy Law Article. "A person who violates this section is guilty of a misdemeanor and on conviction is subject to imprisonment not exceeding 5 years or a fine not exceeding $10,000 or both."

Eric T Kirk
Attorney

After graduating with honors from Albany Law School in New York, Eric Kirk has spent most of his 25 year legal career battling insurance companies to secure fair and just compensation for his clients in Maryland, New York, and Florida.

410-657-5962