An Experienced Attorney Can Help Avoid The Devastating Consequences of an Escape Charge
Maryland law defines escape as leaving a place of lawful confinement, with or without the use of force. If found guilty of escape, the person will incur additional jail time on top of the sentence he or she attempted to avoid. The kicker- it must be served consecutive to the sentence the escapee was serving.
What is First-Degree Escape?
First-degree escape involves leaving a prison, juvenile hall, or another place of confinement. First-degree escape carries a stiff penalty with a mandatory 10-year sentence.
What is Second-Degree Escape?
Second-degree escape involves not reporting to a place of confinement in the first place. Violating the terms of a home detention arrangement can result in a second-degree escape charge. The penalty for second-degree is smaller, yet still substantial with a 3-year sentence.
What Does “Harboring a Fugitive” Mean?
Maryland law defines a fugitive as someone for whom a felony arrest warrant has been issued. The law defines “harboring” as hiding, housing, or giving aid to a fugitive, or preventing that individual’s capture. To be prosecuted, an individual must know that the person involved is a fugitive and that helping him or her avoid arrest is a crime. However, if that person is also avoiding prosecution or serving a sentence, there is no requirement that the harboring individual know that giving aid is a crime in order to support a conviction.
If you’ve been charged with escape, you need the help of a skilled and experienced attorney. I am prepared to help you. Contact me today to schedule your complimentary evaluation, analysis, and consultation.